Day 10: Underground

Summer in a Strange Land

Beneath the busy city of Barcelona lies an even busier metro system.

Barely being able to drive in my hometown, this is how I am traveling through Barcelona. Catching trains, transferring lines, being packed into subway cars at the end of the work day with all the other commuters who find the surface too much to bear.

The system is busy yet efficient. There are several lines throughout the city, reaching different destinations in areas of Barcelona. To get from my hotel to my first stop today (the Palau Reial and its corresponding gardens), I had to transfer from yellow to blue to green.

 

During my time trekking through the underground caverns of the subway system, there were several street musicians performing for the spare change of passengers as they rush to catch their next train. On my way to visit La Pedrera, however, I ran into a completely…

View original post 207 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

